A Little Birdy Told Me…Benefits for Libraries Using Twitter.

20140520-173541.jpg

Tweet from @ALIANational

I had no idea it was Library and Information Services Week until I went on Twitter today. A WHS course for work means I missed my TAFE Monday, so I would’ve had no idea otherwise. There’s a pretty decent benefit right there!

I also read in my Twitter feed that today is Library Technicians Day. I have my fingers and toes crossed that I will one day soon be a real live Library Technician, so I will celebrate this soon to be special day for me heartily by reorganising my books into Dewey classification and turning our kitchen table into a circulation desk. The kids can be my book lovin’ customers. I may even bake cupcakes and leave them in the tearoom for the staff (me!). See, the benefits to libraries using Twitter get better and better!

IMG_7774
Tweet from @TroveAustralia

And to liven things in my Twitter feed, I follow some not quite factual but nonetheless entertaining Tweeters such as this gem –

20140520-174341.jpg
Tweet from @FakeLibStats
It may not present real statistics, but there’s gotta be some truth in there. Plus it’s a good giggle!

There you go. Without libraries using Twitter, I wouldn’t know how much hard work special this week is for Librarians. I wouldn’t be eating cupcakes for dinner. And I wouldn’t be wondering how many Librarians actually are concerned they will be replaced by 3D images of themselves. There is so much information that can be shared in 140 characters (plus a decent pic to catch the eye) or less. Tweet tweet.

2 thoughts on “A Little Birdy Told Me…Benefits for Libraries Using Twitter.

  1. I found some time today to read some blogs and I have to say this is a great example of why I should follow ALIA on twitter. I also didn’t know about Library Technicians Day. I hope you had a great day, your fantastic ideas sound like an excellent way to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

